Learn 📚
Pricing
Try Flick (Free)
BlogFlick

Instagram Restrict vs Block: What’s the difference, and how can you do it?

Whether you want to block or restrict someone, or just know the difference between restrict vs block on Instagram, read on.

Posted 13 days ago

Written by

Sam King
Posted 13 days ago
As Instagram has developed as a platform, they have become increasingly aware of issues of cyberbullying, trolling, and general negativity – leading them to develop safeguarding options such as ‘restrict’ and ‘block’ features for accounts. This has allowed users to monitor and limit the interactions that appear on their profile, as well as who can and can’t see their content. Whether you want to block or restrict someone, or want to know the difference between restrict vs block on Instagram, we answer all your questions, below!

Jump to a section ✨

  1. Instagram Restrict vs Block: What’s the Difference, and how can you do it?

Instagram Restrict vs Block: What’s the Difference, and how can you do it?

What does restrict mean on Instagram? 👀

When you restrict someone on Instagram, it means that you are restricting them from seeing certain parts of your profile, or from interacting with you in certain ways. Restricting is different from blocking, because users are still able to view your profile, follow you and have you as a follower.

How do you restrict vs block someone on Instagram? 👋

There are a few different ways to restrict someone, once you have decided this is the option for you.
  1. First, you’ll want to log in to your account, and go to the profile of the user you’d like to restrict.
  2. Next, click on the ‘…’ icon.
  3. Select ‘restrict’.
restrict vs block instagram
You can also restrict someone through the settings option on your profile.
  1. Navigate to ‘Settings’.
  2. Select ‘Privacy’.
  3. Select ‘Restricted Accounts’.
  4. Search for the profile you’d like to restrict, and select this option.
instagram restrict vs block

What happens when you restrict someone on Instagram? 🙅‍♀️

If you want to restrict someone but you’re worried about what they might think – don’t worry. Instagram does not notify users as to whether or not they’ve been restricted. However, you will be able to stop them from making the following actions on your profile:
1. Commenting
Technically, they will still be able to comment on your images or videos, as normal, but their comments will not be public or viewable by other users. This means only you, and the restricted user can see the comments they have left on your profile.
2. Visibility of your activity
Although your profile may appear normal to the restricted user, they will not be able to see when you are online or if you have seen their messages if they send across a DM. Any messages they send will appear in ‘message requests’ rather than your primary inbox.
These are both particularly useful if you are a public figure, or a brand. If you are a pubic figure and want to restrict hate or any negative comments that may come your way, the restrict function is a great option that doesn’t cause too much upset.

How to tell if someone restricted you on Instagram? 🥺

So you think you’ve been restricted, eh? It’s quite easy to find out if you’ve been blocked on Instagram, as you won’t have any access to that person’s profile, however restricting can be a trickier to work out. You’ll still be able to see the profile as normal, and you’ll still be able to comment on posts, so how do you know if you’ve been restricted?
If you want to find out if you’ve been restricted, one of the best ways is to check your message history with the person in question. You should be able to see when and if they are online, if they haven’t restricted you, as well as whether or not they have seen your recent messages, marked by read receipts.
If you have multiple accounts, you can also check if you have been restricted, when looking at whether or not your comments appear on your profile. You can test this by commenting on a recent post, then switching to your other account to see if your comment appears automatically, or if has to be approved.
The restrict feature has been added to Instagram as a way to stop bullying, negativity and hate on the platform, and it helps some users take back control over their profiles. It’s important that whether or not you have been restricted, to think about the comments you post on a person’s profile and whether or not they could be harmful to the individual.

How do you block someone on Instagram? 😡

Someone really getting to you, and restriction just isn’t enough to keep them off your back? If you want to take things a step further, you can also block someone on Instagram, which will mean you will essentially ‘disappear’. Don’t worry, you won’t actually disappear. The user won’t be able to search for, or find your profile, and you will be removed from their followers and following. Here’s how to block someone on Instagram:
  1. Go to the person’s profile that you’d like to block.
  2. Select the ‘…’ icon in the top righthand corner.
  3. Select ‘Block’.
instagram restrict vs block

How do you unblock vs unrestrict someone on IG? 📸

Decided you want to unblock someone, or no longer see them as a threat to your page? Blocking and restricting are reversible, which means you can also unblock and unrestrict users too.
To unblock someone:
  1. On your profile tap the icon of three horizontal lines in the top righthand corner.
  2. Select ‘Settings’.
  3. Tap ‘Privacy’.
  4. In the ‘Connections’ section, select ‘Blocked Accounts.’
  5. Find the user you’d like to unblock, and select ‘Unblock.’
instagram toolkit
To unrestrict someone:
  1. Go to the person’s profile that you’d like to unrestrict.
  2. Select the ‘…’ icon.
  3. Select ‘Unrestrict.’

How do you tell if someone blocked you on Instagram? 💭

Finding out if someone blocked you on Instagram is quite simple, as if you are blocked, you won’t be able to find them at all. Try searching for their username, and if they don’t appear, it likely means they have either deleted their account or blocked you. You can also check your ‘following’ to see if you are still following that profile.
Finally, if you want to find out whether their profile has been deleted, or if they have blocked you, you will need to log in to another Instagram profile, search for their username and check. If it pops up, it means they have blocked you from their account. If it doesn’t, it’s likely they could have deleted or deactivated their account all-together.
Now you should know everything there is about the restrict vs block actions on Instagram. If you want to explore more hacks, insights and how-tos, just click the banner below!

Content


Talk Social To Me

Get the latest social media gossip, memes, news and tips sent straight to your inbox.

More articles related to
Flick
instagram staircase
instagram staircase

Staircase/Ladder Instagram Hashtag Strategy in 2021

The ‘staircase’ method is an effective way to use Instagram hashtags and is the number one Instagram hashtag strategy for both beginners and experts.

Sam King

7 months ago

header image application
header image application

Tips for Using Flick’s Mobile App

Tips for finding hashtags on the go with our brand new hashtag app for Instagram. Explore the best practices for an efficient strategy, from your phone.

Julia Cohen

1 year ago

NEW! Mobile Analytics has Arrived

You can now get hashtag performance updates sent straight to your phone, and access Flick’s entire Analytics Suite through the app.

Sam King

11 months ago

Return to Blog Home

Find, manage and analyze Instagram hashtags for your posts.

Platform

WebsitePricingRoadmapOpen WikiChangelogRequest Feature

2021 Flick.tech LTD. All rights reserved.